Copic Color Confusion

Last week, I blogged about these wonderful things called Copic markers.  I had a section about misleading online color charts.  Well, I received the first half of my Copics and I was surprised to see how much different the colors actually were!

Expected Colors

Actual Colors

It might be hard to compare these two while they’re not side-by-side.  So you can get a better idea of how different they are, here are a couple of colors compared next to each other:

The black tabbed lines are expected colors with the actual color on top.

If you want a good idea of what your colors will look like but don’t have access to the markers to see the color caps, you have a couple of options.

  1. Order a handmade color chart from Copic for $15.  This is the best way, but pricey.
  2. Visit these two pages for a fairly accurate idea:  Link 1 Link 2
  3. Put your laptop on a desk, push the monitor back until it is almost flat but not broken, move away from your laptop about an arm’s reach, then squint hard.
Tilt it back this far!

Stand back and VOILA, R25 looks like it's supposed to! No more bubblegum pink!

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think this means I wasted my money.  I was wondering why they didn’t have a good darker palette, which is why I chose many of the darker shades.  However, this information would have been useful to know beforehand because now my collection is missing the lighter colors for highlighting!

What this all means is, when you’re purchasing your markers you should expect:

  • Colors are a couple of shades darker than what you see.
  • Color differences between blending families may actually be much more drastic.
  1. Wait what really? That’s CRAZY, violation of trading standards crazy!

    Not to mention it doesn’t make any sense, why wouldn’t they just put accurate colours on the website :/

    I love your solution though. That’s some clever thinking right there, from now on I’m going to do that with everything I buy. Starting with a new battery for my dad’s phone, thanks boo!

    • I don’t know! I’m guessing the colors might look different on different people’s monitors according to their settings etc. Also the Copic colors might be different shades depending on your lighting and paper too, so it must be hard to tell what the colors really are. If they had a completely accurate color chart I’m pretty sure they would put it out? UNLESS THEY ARE EVIL.

      • YEAH colour profiles are different, like my laptop monitor and my LED monitor are completely different, but you would think they would at least give you instructions to change your colour profile so you can see them properly before you buy. It’s not THAT hard, and you’re spending a lot of money…

        POSSIBLY THEY MIGHT BE EVIL

      • Man boo, they didn’t look different on the screen to me. Maybe it’s your EYES ( b`—- _ —-`)b

        • You have selective color blindness! You look white skinned to yourself.

    • mooimmapiggy
    • January 21st, 2012

    I feel like I’m gonna break my computer!
    Maybe it’s a trap! You buy the colors (thinking they are like the awesomest thing ever because of what you heard) then like you get them and “THESE AREN’T WHAT I WANT” -buys lighter colors-

    • THIS SOUNDS LIKELY

      • OH MY HOLY WHATNESS

        I just tried this and discovered my laptop screen goes RIGHT BACK UNTIL IT TOUCHES THE DESK

        • THIS IS DISTURBING. I know Rafe once did this and she couldn’t get the laptop back up.

            • mooimmapiggy
            • January 22nd, 2012

            Poor laptop O_______O

            “Help, I’ve fallen and I can’t get up!”

    • dash-cohen
    • January 25th, 2012

    Yes how evil! Some of them aren’t even in the same shade category, not close to the right color like it looks like you got a purple instead of a pink and a blue other than purple…at least on my screen at least. What you can do is send them a link to your blog or even your little color comparison chart even and who knows they might just send you your money back. It has worked a couple of times for me when they shipped me the wrong flavor of peanut brittle.

  2. I’m pretty sure this won’t work because I don’t buy directly from Copic, I buy from like other stores. I wish it would work! Thanks for the advice though!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Got something to say?

